Contact

Mr Mathew Varghese

Consultant Orthopaedic Surgeon
MBCHB, BSc, FRCS (Orth)

Practising at

Spire Methley Park Hospital

Back to top

Treatment information

Some of the principal treatments carried out by Mr Mathew Varghese at Spire include:

Orthopaedics

Other treatments

Impingement and tendinitis, instability and arthritis. tennis elbow, golfers elbow and arthritis

Back to top

Professional profile

I graduated from Leeds University Medical School in 2000 and continue to work and train in Yorkshire. I entered into the Yorkshire Orthopaedic and Trauma surgical training programme in 2007 and achieved my Fellowship of the Royal College of Surgeons in 2011, on the first attempt. Following this I worked in the internationally renowned Derby Upper Limb Unit and completed over 15 months of fellowship training. I was appointed as a Consultant Orthopaedic and Trauma Surgeon at Mid Yorks NHS Trust in April 2015.

I specialise in problem with the shoulder and elbow. I offer comprehensive upper limb practice tailored to the individual. The majority of my shoulder work is performed arthroscopically ('keyhole'), however open surgery is required to treat certain conditions, for example, a shoulder replacement to treat advanced shoulder arthritis. Thankfully not everyone needs surgery, and I work with a team who can offer non-surgical management when appropriate.


Clinical Interests

Arthroscopy
Elbow surgery
Shoulder surgery
Soft tissue injuries
Sports injury
Sports medicine
Upper limb surgery
Osteoarthritis


Private contact details

Telephone For self pay appointments call 01977 664228 for insured appointments call 01977 664217
Back to top

Qualification and professional memberships

BSc / University of Leeds / 1998
Bachelor of Science

MBChB / University of Leeds / 2000
Bachelor of Medicine, Bachelor of Surgery
Degree given upon graduation from UK medical school


Professional memberships

British Elbow & Shoulder Society (BESS)

Back to top

Current NHS posts

Mid Yorkshire NHS Trust

Back to top

Personal Profile

I am lucky to live and work in Yorkshire with a great team around me, Happily married with a young family, I have a good work life balance. I try and spend most of my free time outdoors walking, cycling,playing tennis, gardening or undertaking a DIY project.

Back to top