Contact

Dr Sophia Mooncey

Consultant Paediatrician
MBBS MRCP MRCPCH

Practising at

Spire Harpenden Hospital

Spire Leicester Hospital

Back to top

Treatment information

Some of the principal treatments carried out by Dr Sophia Mooncey at Spire include:

Paediatrics

Other treatments

Paediatric medicine.

Back to top

Professional profile

I am a Consultant Community Paediatrician working in Luton and South Bedfordshire since 2001. I have worked in paediatrics for over 20 years. My experience ranges from newborn intensive care to neurodevelopmental follow up and teenagers with behavioural problems. I understand the impact of diagnoses that have a lifelong effect on families and am keen to provide the best support for these children and their families.

In my current NHS consultant post I carry out emotional and behavioural disorder clinics, assessing and diagnosing Autism, Asperger’s syndrome, Tourette’s, ADHD, feeding difficulties, obesity etc. I also perform developmental assessments for ex preterms, those with learning difficulties, epilepsy, sleep difficulties and global developmental delay. I also provide support for families and schools, for those children with special needs. I carry out medical examinations for child protection, developmental assessments and adoptions (I am a medical adviser for the Luton Panel).

My previous experience has been working in London hospitals to complete my CCST (specialist training) in paediatrics. I have also carried out neonatal research and presented papers at international meetings.


Clinical Interests

Allergy
Nutrition


Private contact details

Telephone 0751 6541257
Private secretary Joanne Halford
Private secretary telephone 0751 654 1257
Private secretary email smooncey@gmail.com
Back to top

Qualification and professional memberships

Professional memberships

General Medical Council
Medical Protection Society
Royal College of Paediatrics and Child Health

Back to top

Current NHS posts

Consultant Community Paediatrician Luton PCT

Back to top

Personal Profile

I have always enjoyed paediatrics and appreciate the anxieties and pleasures in working with children and their families. I am married and have four children ranging in age from toddler to teens, which gives me much practical experience. Quality of lifestyle is important to me and my family; I have always worked part time since having children and continue to do so. 

I enjoy cooking and travelling abroad to learn about different cultures. 

I have taken an active part in charity events having completed a 5k run. I enjoy running and playing tennis as well as watching films with my family.

Back to top